Response to Cristina

Thank you very much Cristina for your note and interest in the site.


My list of 36 was an early attempt, and recently I have come up with a shorter list of 28 (and also with recommended versions) intended as basis of a 1-year undergraduate course curriculum. The major cut in the list of 28 vs. 36 are Buddhist texts, plus some less significant texts in other traditions. 2 texts were added (Don Quixote, War and Peace) which try to represent the importance of novels (besides epics), and also significant modern literary languages.


I have also formulated a defense of teaching humanities / canonical texts (especially at the early undergraduate level) which you may find worthwhile to scan through given your interest in liberal education.


Lastly, you may find that the list of 28, 36 or 150 lack significant Latin American authors/works - this is so mostly because many significant works were only written in the 20th century which I consider too "near" to us for a good understanding of their longer-term canonicity. 


Thank you very much again!


Write a comment

Comments: 2
  • #1

    Sancho Rosemary (Tuesday, 26 October 2021 23:19)

    All thanks to Mr Anderson for helping with my profits and making my fifth withdrawal possible. I'm here to share an amazing life changing opportunity with you. its called Bitcoin / Forex trading options. it is a highly lucrative business which can earn you as much as $2,570 in a week from an initial investment of just $200. I am living proof of this great business opportunity. If anyone is interested in trading on bitcoin or any cryptocurrency and want a successful trade without losing notify Mr Anderson now.Whatsapp: (+447883246472 )
    Email: tdameritrade077@gmail.com

  • #2

    love (Wednesday, 29 December 2021 13:57)

    I want to thank DR AKHERE for the wonderful work he done for me and my family, i was having a serious breakup with my ex but when i contacted him for help he brought him back to me with his historical powers, and also helping me to get a job, since he cast his spell for me things has really be good to me and since i know him my husband has been faithful to me, well i will say that this man is a really great spell caster that every one must contact for help, if you are facing breakup or marriage problem just contact this man for help he will help you settle everything with his power, please contact him on his email: AKHERETEMPLE@gmail.com or call/WhatsApp:+2349057261346 once you contact him all your problems will be solve.